Justice High School Fundraiser

January 6, 2018 @ 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Lakefront Home of Alison and Shane Oleson
6314 Crosswoods Cir
Falls Church, VA 22044
Suggested rates

Click here to view the invitation and to RSVP

Please join us on Saturday January 6, 2018 to kick off a fundraising campaign for JUSTICE HIGH SCHOOL!

Alison and Shane Oleson will host this fundraiser at their beautiful lakefront home in Lake Barcroft from 2:00pm to 4:00pm.  Stuart alumnus and Oscar winning producer, Bruce Cohen, several elected officials, and other name change advocates and supporters will be   there too.

As you know, on October 26, 2017 the Fairfax County School Board voted to change the name of J.E.B. Stuart High School to Justice High School.  After more than two years of advocacy and community input, the School Board agreed that there was a compelling need to change the name of J.E.B. Stuart High School to one that better reflects Fairfax County values of diversity and inclusion. This new name will honor Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall; civil right leader Barbara Rose Johns; and local WW II hero COL. Louis Mendez, Jr.

We are committed to raise private support to help pay for costs associated with the name change, and to show our support for the meaning behind the change — justice and equity.  While inflated initial cost estimates for renaming the school have come down substantially, the revised estimate is approximately $400,000.

Please join us January 6th!  We’d love to be able to track donations from this event, so please plan to donate on January 6th.  Fairfax County Public Schools have set up an electronic donation portal, so we’ll have laptops and forms available. Of course, you can also write a check made out to FCPS. If you cannot be there in person, please donate from home at: https://www.fcps.edu/justice.   

Suggested donation levels:

$50 — Friend

$100 — Supporter

$200 — Donor

$250 — Major Donor

$500 — Principal Donor

Thank you, on behalf of the  Justice High School Fundraiser Host Committee Members,

Bruce Cohen, Debbie Ratliff, George Waters, Jill and Tim Beres, Stephen Spitz, Jody and Jake McKitrick, Alison and Shane Oleson, Deborah Danker, David Hardison, Rodney Green, Kristin Cabral, and Jessica Swanson.

Please share this Evite with others to spread the word.  Justice for All!